Sound Design

This page lists the sound designers - where known - for professional, main-house productions at the Library Theatre, Stephen Joseph Theatre In The Round and Stephen Joseph Theatre since 1955. It is drawn entirely from surviving programmes and material in archive and whilst comprehensive, it cannot be seen as definitive due the limitations of the Stephen Joseph Theatre Archive (please see Research Notes for further details).

A comprehensive list of credited Sound Designers / Technicians can be found at the foot of the page (this includes staff not credited to a specific production).
Julian Butler: Just So Stories (2016)
Simon Coles:
A Christmas Carol (2009)
Steve Carley: Purvis (2006); Storm In A Tea Chest (2006); The Prodigal Son (2006)
Julie Davis: Two's Company (2002); The Hope (2002); The Kaiser And I (2002); River's Up (2002); Wor Tony And The Great White Shark (2002); A Day Like Today (2002); Red Roses (2002)
Osman Dervish: Thumbelina (2003); The Ugly Duckling (2004); Spending Frank (2005)
Jon Everett: Stepping Out (2019 - Associate)
Andrew Graham: Jess & Joe Forever (2018); ALice In Wonderland (2018)
Neil Hobbs: Split (2001); Secondhand Dreams (2001)
Martin Hodgson: Geordie Sinatra (2012)
O─čuz Kaplangi: The Monstrous Heart (2019)
Francis Lynch: Bricks 'n' Mortar (1984); The Dresser (1984); His Monkey Wife (1984)
Gareth Owen: The Woman In Black (2015)
James D. Reid: Martha, Josie & The Chinese Elvis (2019)
Matt Roper: Caution! Trousers (2005); Clearing The Colours (2005); Moby Dick (2005)
Simon Slater: Pinocchio (2016); The Rise & Fall Of Little Voice (2017); The 39 Steps (2018); Build A Rocket (2018); Stepping Out (2019)
Paul Stear: Dot.Com (1999); A Christmas Carol (2009); A Midsummer Night's Dream (2010); Lost & Found (2012); Soul Man (2012); Cinderella (2013); Cox & Box - Mrs Bouncer’s Legacy (2014 & 2015); The Last Train To Scarborough (2014); Screenplay (2014); Slipping (2014); Aladdin (2014); Neville’s Island (2015); Di & Viv & Rose (2017); Goth Weekend (2017); Joking Apart (2018); Better Off Dead (2018 - Associate); Season's Greetings (2019 - Associate); Birthdays Past, Birthdays Present (2019 - Associate)
Matthew Twaites: The National Joke (2016)
Ben Vickers: Beautiful People (2002); Making Waves (2003); Tissue Paper For The Soul (2003); The Anniversary Waltz (2003); Fields Of Gold (2004); The Genie And The Meanie (2005); Villette (2005)
Roland Whiteley: Skylight (2006)

Sound Designer / Technician Credits

Given not all programmes specifically credit backstage crew, this is a list of all people with a sound credit between 1955 and 1996 in programmes (where programmes are available).
Alan Ayckbourn
Julian Butler
Simon Coles
Steve Carley
Julie Davis
Osman Dervish
Andrew Graham
Matt Roper
Paul Stear
Matthew Twaites
Ben Vickers
Roland Whiteley
Neil Hobbs
Martin Hodgson
Ian Jones
Stephen Jones
Stephen Joseph
Francis Lynch
Gareth Owen
All research for this section by Simon Murgatroyd. Please do not reproduce without crediting Simon Murgatroyd and the website.