Stephen Joseph Theatre Staff: Longest Serving

The Stephen Joseph Theatre's history dates back to 1955 and since that time, the organisation has employed hundreds of people from writers to directors, actors to ushers, stage management to designers.

It is worth noting the people who have made the longest contributions to the company as, frequently, they have made some of the most significant contributions to the theatre. This is the list of the longest serving staff members and the longest serving department heads.

Longest Serving Staff

Alan Ayckbourn - 60 years
(1957 - 1962: actor, playwright, director; 1969 - 1970: Director of Productions; 1972 - 2009: Artistic Director; 2009 - present: director)
Ken Boden - 30 years
(1955 - 1985: Theatre Manager)
Margaret Boden - 30 years
(Box Office Manager - 30 years)
Amanda Saunders - 26 years
(1978 - 1982: Stage Manager; 1996 - 2018: Touring & Programming Director, later Executive Producer)
Stephen Wood - 25 years
(1976 - 1982: Press Officer; 1996 - 2015: Executive Director)

Longest Serving by Department

Director: Alan Ayckbourn (in post since 1961 - 57 years)
Artistic Director:
Alan Ayckbourn (37 years)
Theatre Manager: Ken Boden (30 years)
Box Office Manager: Margaret Boden (30 years)
Executive Producer: Amanda Saunders (22 years)
Executive Assistant: Jaye Lewis (in post since 1998 - 20 years)
Executive Director: Stephen Wood (19 years)
Finance Director: Keith McFarlane (17 years)
Production Manager: Alison Fowler (16 years)
Archivist: Simon Murgatroyd (in post since 2004 - 14 years)
Press Office: Jeannie Swales (10 years, 1 year maternity cover, ongoing since 2016 - 13 years)

All research for this section of the website is by Simon Murgatroyd. Please do not reproduce without crediting Simon Murgatroyd and the website.

We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to ensure the best experience on this website.